top of page

Polluted Burgers Blog /

Follow me on my journey to veganism.

Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine Viney

Day 6

Updated: Nov 28, 2018

Yesterday I went to London to meet with Dr Carys Bennett from PETA, to talk about all things animal agriculture. Carys used to be a geologist and she studied climate change in depth. She told me about a concept she worked on called the Anthropocene which means relating to or denoting the current geological age- the period during which human activity has been the dominant influence on climate and the environment. Animal agriculture being included in that.




Carys told me that going vegan is the best way to stop climate change caused by animal agriculture. And it is one way to stop it. The one problem being that we can’t force people to stop eating meat. How is that something that could be achieved? I think what PETA do and everything that they stand for is amazing, and their campaigns are so clever. But it is so so hard to get people to pay attention and listen. I know they have come on leaps and bounds and will definitely continue to. But in the back of my mind I can’t help but think it won’t work for everyone.

That is where lab-grown meat can help. I don’t know enough about it to explain in depth. But it basically means scientists are able to grow meat rather than have to raise an animal to kill it. Meaning there won’t be a need for thousands of cows and sheep etc, just enough for them to live.



Speaking to Carys highlighted just how serious an issue this is and something needs to change now. Although I feel like I’m trying so hard to do my bit, it seems like I’m not changing anything in the grand scheme of things. And it’s frustrating when people are aware of the issues but don’t feel driven to do anything about it. How can you not care? I’m hoping my documentary will be able to inspire a change in people’s attitudes. All I want is for people to make more plant-based options and make a conscious effort to be a better human.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page