top of page

Polluted Burgers Blog /

Follow me on my journey to veganism.

Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine Viney

Day 16

It’s been a hot minute. I haven’t posted much this week as haven’t really been up to anything exciting. But thought I’d give you a quick update as to how the diet is going and explain more about the documentary as I’m not sure I fully have.


I have to say the plant-based eating is going well. For me, I think I’ve found it quite easy because I was never a big meat eater anyway. The only meat I would really eat was chicken, and even then, I would never really cook it for myself because I couldn’t bare chopping it up raw. The one thing I thought I would really struggle with was mayonnaise as I’ve mentioned before. But the Hellman’s vegan one is just as good, only pricey.


I’m going to try and experiment a bit more with my food in the next week or so. I want to make a mac and cheese and try a vegan pho too. I am a sucker for noodles and I feel like Thai food is so versatile, you can swap out any ingredients to make it friendly but still just as delicious.


The whole reason I’m challenging myself to do 30 days plant-based is to try out one possible sustainable solution to animal agriculture. Animal agriculture is the number one cause of climate change and few people are aware of that. Farming releases around 3% more greenhouse gases into the atmosphere than the whole transportation sector. The topic is definitely more discussed now, but some don’t understand the full impact and future behind it.


This is what I hope my documentary will explain. I have so far spoken to Carys- the geologist from PETA, and Kerry- an MP and former Shadow Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. My final interview is next week with farmer Fidelity Weston. She owns a farm in Kent where she raises cattle, sheep, pigs, chickens and horses. I’m hoping she can show me what goes in to raising cattle, in terms of what they eat, water consumption, and general maintenance, so I can get an idea of the pollution these animals create.


If you want to find out more about the destruction our diets are causing to the planet, I strongly recommend watching Cowspiracy.


Stay tuned for more food updates and to see how my documentary is taking shape.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page