top of page

Polluted Burgers Blog /

Follow me on my journey to veganism.

Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine Viney

Day 24

I have just gotten back from the countryside in Kent. I went to visit farmer and Vice Chairman of Pasture For Life, Fidelity Weston. She showed me around her farm and went to visit her cows in their field. I’m not sure what I was expecting from the interview, but I was truly shocked by what Fidelity had to say.


She was telling me all about how her farm is nearly carbon neutral and a few of the farms around her actually claim to be. I was so confused, I thought this was where the majority of pollution was coming from.


She explained how raising 100% grass fed animals were all part of the carbon cycle. Basically, cows cannot give off anymore methane or carbon dioxide than is already in the air, because it already exists in the form of the grass that they eat and they simply just push it further through the system. I’m not an expert so probably don’t explain it very well. But I will link this farming blog that describes it really well and even has a little diagram.


Fidelity also expressed that she believed you shouldn’t be eating meat unless you are buying 100% grass fed, not only for the environment but for the nutritional value too. Grain fed animals just aren’t worth eating. And if this is your only option, just eat vegetable protein.


I was astounded that farming could be so simple and so beneficial for the environment. I learnt that we need to stop eating as much meat as we do, it isn’t necessary, and to buy better quality.


I know this is all isn’t the most realistic, but it seems the only way to be making steps forward.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page