top of page

Polluted Burgers Blog /

Follow me on my journey to veganism.

Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine Viney

My Vegan Journey: THE BEGINNING

12.11.18


Today is the beginning of my 30-day veganism. I wanted to set myself this challenge not only to see what I can do for the environment, but also to see how I would feel after the 30 days is up. Will I have more energy? What will my skin be like? And will I have lost any weight? I’m going to try my best, but I may slip up or make mistakes every now and then. Let’s see how easy this will be.


I had work today so I ate there for breakfast and lunch. In the morning I had toast which I nearly grabbed butter for! But instead smothered with peanut butter. For lunch I had a vegan microwaveable curry. After work I went to Tesco Extra to do a vegan shop. Not going to lie, they didn’t have the greatest vegan selection in comparison to Waitrose, Sainsbury's and even Asda, so I don’t think I’ll be going back. None the less I got everything I went for.


Creamy vegan pasta
It looks so cheesy but there's no cheese (vegan or dairy) whatsoever.

For dinner I made a creamy vegan one pot pasta (Asian style), I found the recipe on the internet. Everything seemed to be going to plan until I double checked the ingredients of the red Thai curry paste. Fish sauce. I was fuming. In Tesco I picked up a small pod of the Blue Dragon paste, checked the ingredients and saw it was vegan-perfect! I then see a large jar of the same Blue Dragon red Thai curry paste and thought it would be better value for money because I would probably use it again and again. Maybe it was naïve of me, but I didn’t check the label because it was exactly the same product in different packaging.


I ended up using the paste because I had bought it now and thought it would be a waste if I didn’t. But I don’t understand why the larger jar had fish sauce in? I was so angry because I had technically failed my first day of being a vegan. Everything else had gone perfectly! I had made extra pasta too because I was planning to have it for my next dinner and lunch after that. But at least now I know to check everything. On the plus side my pasta was delicious and I highly recommend it for anyone!


Let’s hope my next update is more successful.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page